

Niagara History Center

Niagara County Historical Society 215 Niagara Street, Lockport, NY 14094 716-434-7433 716-434-3309 fax info@niagarahistory.org www.niagarahistory.org

Rev. Wayne Jagow to Receive 19th Annual Key to the Locks Award May 18, 2024 – 10 a.m.

The Reverend Wayne Jagow has been named the recipient of the 19th Annual Key to the Locks Award. Rev. Jagow was nominated and chosen for a lifetime of volunteer community service to residents and organizations of Niagara County.

Rev. Jagow has donated his time to many service organizations over more than forty years. He volunteered with the Wrights Corners Fire Company; served as a member and President of the Cornell Cooperative Extension's Board of Directors; was a co-founder and President of Big Brothers/Big Sisters of Niagara County; was a member of the Niagara County Commission on the Status of Women; was the first coordinator of the Niagara County Bicycle Safety Program and Junior Fire Setters Prevention Program; co-chaired the Niagara County Bicentennial Commission; and served with a number of other community associations.

Lockport Mayor John Lombardi III will present the award to Wayne Jagow in a public ceremony at the Erie Canal Discovery Center, 24 Church Street in Lockport, on Saturday, May 18th at 10:00am. The public is invited to attend.

The Annual Key to the Locks Award was established in 2006 to recognize persons in Niagara County who exemplify the community spirit – or promote the heritage or preservation – of the historic Erie Canal.

Previous recipients of the Key to the Locks Award have included: Michael W. Tucker & Robin Brock; David Kinyon; Jane Whitmore; Clinton J. Starke; Becky Burns; Joseph A. Whalen; Jeffery Degnan; Carol Schmelz; Rosemary Bernard; Dianne Koplas; Joel M. Beyer; David M. Chatt; Charlene Bower; John McKee; Bill & Peggy Mayberry; George Fritz; Jacqueline Connelly; and Charles Begley.